I’ll see your 6AM and raise it to 5:45AM

For the past 4 1/2 years, I’ve joined the band of merry morning buddy runners at Campbell Park every Thursday at 6AM. This buddy run is a standing run–whether or not there’s a TNT season in place, this group shows up every week and believe me, when you’ve run with folks week after week at the *yawn* crack of dawn, you get to be family.

This week, my running partner, Janine, and I decided to kick it up a notch by showing up 15 minutes earlier.

At first, I was apprehensive. I mean, it’s hard enough getting up at 5AM to make it to a 6AM run; the prospect of getting up at 4:45 didn’t seem all that appealing to me, although I reminded myself that it really is just a mere 15 minutes earlier. Surely I could do that for my friend, no?

Turns out, the extra 15 minutes of sleep were overrated. Well, perhaps that’s an overstatement, although I do have to admit, it wasn’t all that bad having to get up that much earlier. Janine and I were done with our 4 miles by 6:50, which, I must say, felt pretty damn good, considering most people are probably just waking up at that time. Talk about feeling accomplished!

This will definitely take a few weeks of getting used to, and I will miss my 6AM family, although we do get to see them on the trail still–just running in the opposite direction. But perhaps running at 5:45 will build some much needed discipline into my running right now, which I am ashamed to say has gotten a little lax in the last few weeks (ahem, months).

And ok, I confess, it was kind of nice being the first person in at the office this morning. I could get used to that :).

Leave a Reply

