Why it’s better to run with people…

TNT alums at Hellyer Park

TNT alums at Hellyer Park (photo by Janine Penney)

I’m not going to lie, I woke up this morning thinking, “Ugh, do I really have to do 10 miles?”

The answer was yes, of course. Because I’d be running 13.1 in two weeks at the Santa Cruz Half Marathon and I had yet to get in my 10 mile run. Still this knowledge did not make it any easier to get out the door or get out on the trail today.

But something magical happened, as tends to happen when I’m running with others: I forget all about the fact that I’m actually running. I don’t mean to imply that my feet aren’t pounding (because they are) and that my breathing doesn’t grow labored (because it does). But instead of focusing on these things, I’m focusing on the fun conversation I’m having with the people I’m running with (which, more often than not, is centered on food–go figure).

Today, I was thinking of every excuse not to do the full 10 miles I had set out to do, but thanks to my friend Sandy, who not only kept me at a good pace, but thoroughly entertained me along the way, I was able to not only complete the 10 miles but feel fantastic afterwards.

Now I can’t wait to tackle the Santa Cruz Half! Bring it on!

In other news, I am once again fundraising for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, as I get set to do my 8th TNT season. I’m doing this one in honor of my friend Siobhan, whose life was cut far too short by cancer. She will be with me every step of the way.

If you’d like to see an end to cancer as much as I do, please consider making a contribution at http://pages.teamintraining.org/sj/nikesf10/jenkeepsrunning. Thank you in advance for your generosity!

Leave a Reply

