Cadences, running buddies, and putting it all into perspective

It’s Tuesday, which means it’s another track night. These are always the toughest days of training for me–yes, even tougher than the long runs on Saturdays, believe it or not. I am soooo not an evening workout person (to put it mildly). After a full day at work, I am mentally, physically, and emotionally exhausted–not to mention, ready for dinner and a great big veg-out in front of the TV or computer (before I plunge into writing :)). All of this does not a great combo make with pushing yourself, which is what you’re supposed to do at track. These are the workouts where you push yourself to your limit so that the other workouts become far easier.

Yeah, try that when your tank is empty!

Anyway, tonight I was without my running buddy, who is on vacation for the next 3 weeks (woe is me, I know). Still, I forged ahead and tonight’s was the infamous cadence workout, where we worked on our running stride, so that we’d get 90 strides per minute on each foot. I’ve been doing TNT for 6 years now and I STILL can’t get my cadence to where it needs to be. Tonight wasn’t looking so great, as I struggled to reach 90 each and every time we did the drill.

But guess what? On the very last drill, I did it. I actually did it. It took 5 tries tonight (and, oh, several hundred other tries over the previous seasons ;)), but I did it. I finally hit the “perfect” 90. Yeeha!! It’s all about the small victories.

And of course, at the end of the day, it’s all about keeping it in the big picture. Tonight, my friend’s 4 year old son begins chemo for stage 3 cancer. He is scared and worried, as are his amazingly strong parents. Whatever my struggles with the cadence workout, it kinda pales in comparison to what they’re about to go through, no?

Sending prayers and lots of love to the Gunters for what will be a very tough road ahead of them. But I know they will pull through because they’ve got all kinds of love and positive energy coming their way.

Leave a Reply

