Taper, we meet again, old friend

Today’s the first day of my week of taper for this Sunday’s Jungle Run Half Marathon. And how do I choose to start it? With a 30 min HIIT workout on the stationary bike and a 35 min weights circuit.

I swear I’ll tone it down for the rest of the week. Well, after tomorrow night’s Yasso 800’s at track, anyway. Hey, I didn’t choose tomorrow’s workout–I only do what the coaches tell me to do ;).

I always struggle with the taper part. Something about taking it easy and “resting” for a week just drives me spare. How’s a Type A person like me supposed to deal with sitting or standing still? “Not well,” is the answer to that. I don’t deal well with it, but I know it’s important, so I will do it. And I will also make sure to keep hydrated, especially with the temperatures as high as they’ll be this week, and the hardest thing for me: get plenty of sleep.

It’ll all be worth it when Sunday comes, though! Here’s hoping it’s a good race, though I don’t want to put any pressure on myself. I’ve been having an awesome season so far and been making progress in leaps in bounds in terms of pace and stamina (thank you, TNT coaches!!!!). I hope I get a little bit of payoff on Sunday after all the hard work, but if not, there’s always my “hat trick” in October to really cash in on all of the training I’ve been putting in.

No matter what, I will  be wearing my new TNT singlet, with two important names written on it, to remind me of why I’m doing this. Thank you, Siobhan and Evan, for never letting me forget that it isn’t about racing or PR’s or medals: it’s about saving lives and kicking this thing called “cancer” where it hurts the most.

My inspirations: Siobhan and Evan

My inspirations: Siobhan and Evan

Leave a Reply

