Raced to the end of summer (and set a new PR!)

While most people plan barbecues, picnics, and generally, lounging around for Labor Day weekend, I was busy planning to run a race.

Does this mean I’m a running addict? đŸ˜‰

Today was the first annual Race To the End Of Summer 10K/5K, organized by three of my very good friends from Team In Training to benefit the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. And as anyone knows me knows, I’m not one to pass up a good 10K, much less one that’s benefiting such an awesome cause.

A good time was had by all

A good time was had by all

Today was a bittersweet day for me. For some reason, I thought today was September 6, the 6 month anniversary of Siobhan’s passing. It weighed heavily on my mind, and of course, I dedicated today’s race to her. It seemed so apropos to be running 6 miles in honor of the 6 long months we’ve had to endure without her. It wasn’t until I got home hours later that I realized it was only September 5 and that tomorrow is the actual anniversary, but nevertheless, she was a spectacular guiding force for me out there.

And she helped me set a new PR.

That’s right, folks: 1:03:43 is my new 10K time! That’s almost 9 minutes off my previous PR of 1:12:10. This one is definitely Siobhan’s handiwork :).

The face of a happy runner! (photo by Victoria Pon)

The face of a happy runner! (photo by Victoria Pon)

Leave a Reply

