That’s a wrap…

Today marked the last training run of the season for me–12 miles in what I personally consider to be one of the most beautiful places on this earth: Monterey, CA.

Sunshine, mild breezes, and miles and miles of crystal clear blue water with rolling waves… it was truly picture perfect today and easily in the top 5 of the most enjoyable runs I’ve had all season.

Next week starts my “hat trick” of races: San Jose Rock N’ Roll Half Marathon on 10/3, Royal Victoria Marathon on 10/10, and Nike Women’s Half Marathon on 10/17. It’ll be a busy (and likely grueling) next three weeks, but I am ready and excited to tackle them all. And ok, just a teensy nervous. Well, maybe a lot nervous. I know I’ll get through them just fine, though; I’ve had a tremendous season in which I’ve had numerous breakthroughs, trained hard and wisely, have incredible running buddies who have pushed me in all the right ways, and most importantly, Honorees who have inspired me all season long.

As I “go into battle,” my heart will be with them every step of the way. My battle is nothing compared to the ones they’ve had to endure. When this is all over, and I’ve gotten my Tiffany’s necklace from a tuxedoed firefighter after crossing the finish line at the Nike Women’s Marathon, it will be the end of my aches and pains for the training season, but for my Honorees, their battle is still ahead of them and for some, has even taken their life.

At the end of the day, this is all for them. I love running and get so many benefits from it–including lifelong friendships that I treasure–but I could also walk away at any point if I wanted to. I choose not to because my work is not done. My work will never be done, not until there is a cure for cancer. So… this is a wrap for this summer’s training season, but I will be back again next summer.

Now… onto my races!

Monterey 12 miler

Could there be any place more gorgeous to have a training run than Monterey? (photo courtesy of Janine Penney)

Leave a Reply

