It’s almost “graduation day”

Last track workout of the season last night, which had a lot of us feeling sappy and sentimental and looking back at the season it’s been. (I may or may not have posted a rambling, gush-filled status update all about it on Facebook yesterday. I admit to nothing. Nope, nada. ;))

For our last workout, we did the infamous burrito relay which, as I learned last night, got its name because the winners of the relay get a coupon for a free burrito. Hey, did someone say free burrito? The object was to pair up with someone from a different pace group, and between the two of you, run a total of four miles. The tricky part was we had to predict our total run time, which of course meant that we had to be really in touch with our pace, because we weren’t allowed to wear our trusty Garmin watches. Whichever pair finished their four miles with a time that was closest to their predicted finish won the relay (and conversely, the pair that was furthest off would win a prize as well).

My partner (also named Jen–we were the double Jens) and I predicted an even 40 minutes. I was pretty skeptical, considering I was dragging yesterday and didn’t think I’d be able to run 10 minute miles around the track. Much to my surprise, though, we ended up coming VERY close to that time. We finished in 39 minutes, 12 seconds–not bad for dragging!

All in all, a fun evening. I did have a sad ending to it, though: the dragonfly charm that I’d been wearing as a pendant for the past few weeks (as sort of a talisman and constant reminder of my friend), and most recently as a bracelet, got lost sometime last night. It was likely when I put on my sweatshirt after the workout; the chain was pretty delicate and must have gotten snagged on the sleeve. Losing this is particularly crushing, since today is the one-year anniversary of Siobhan’s diagnosis, as well as the seven-month anniversary of her passing. The irony of losing the bracelet on today of all days is not lost on me. I had really, really wanted to wear it on race day on Sunday, but in truth, whether or not I wear it, I know she’ll be with me.

No tears today, I tell myself. She’d be the first to tell me not to sulk over it–I’ve got a job to do, and that’s do my best on Sunday.

I’ll end with this beautiful quote I found a few days ago. I can almost hear her saying it to me and the thought of it makes me smile.

“Grieve not, nor speak of me with tears, but laugh and talk of me as if I were beside you there.” ~ Isla Paschal Richardson

Leave a Reply

