Goodbye summer, hello off-season

Tonight, we had the end-of-season wrap party for the Summer season of the South Bay Marathon Team in Training team. This officially marks the end of season, which means we’ll now all be going our separate ways. Some will stay with the team for the Winter season, while others, like me, will take a break and return next summer.

 

Tonight was a joyful and bittersweet event. It was great to see everyone one more time before we go into the off-season, fun to reminisce about all of the craziness of the last few months and the amazingly good times we’ve had. Our photo captain, Wellington, showed us a fantastic video he put together of some of the season’s highlights, and it was so wonderful to get to relive all of those moments again. The video also contained clips of some moving speeches by Honorees and participants who had dedicated this season to loved ones whose lives have been touched by cancer, and others who have lost loved ones to this disease.

 

As usual, those were the moments that brought me to tears and reminded me once again why I keep coming back again and again–and again. This is an organization like no other and its impact on me is profound. Not only have I made some of the closest friends I’ve ever made because of this team, but I’ve had the rare opportunity to truly make a difference in people’s lives. How many chances in life do we get to do just that?

 

I’ll be withdrawal for the next seven months. I’ll still run, of course, and I’ll see my teammates throughout the off-season–I’ll even be back on the runs from time to time to volunteer at the aid stations–but until next summer, I will be fondly missing everyone and my routine and everything that’s involved in Team In Training. At times during the season, I go through moments when I’m feeling burnt out and I’m counting down for the end, but always, always, when I get to the end, I feel more sadness than relief.

 

Till next year, folks. Catch ya on the flip side.

Leave a Reply

