Relay, anyone?

Today was a first for me: my first relay race!

My friends and I decided on a whim to run in the inaugural Morgan Hill Marathon today as a relay team: 4 of us, each taking approximately 6 miles or so (roughly 10K, give or take) of the course. Some of us had initially signed up to do the half on this course, but after seeing the elevation charts and discovering that there were some monster hills, we decided this relay option would be a far preferable route :).

It ended up being one of the most fun races I’ve ever done! Yes, there were some glitches (namely, being nearly run over by a car because the roads hadn’t been closed down for the race [note to the race organizers: that might be a good idea, yo] and the bus drivers carrying the relay racers not having a single clue where they were supposed to go), but overall, it was a blast out there.

There was 100% chance of rain, so we came prepared in our customary garbage bags and rain gear, but as luck would have it, we got nothing more than a few sprinkles here and there.

The garbage bag brigade, pre-race

The garbage bag brigade, pre-race

I was running the first leg and it soon became disappointingly clear that I was just not feeling it today. I felt as though I was dragging out on the course today–really tired and I was unable to get to (much less maintain) the pace I wanted to. But thankfully, I had an awesome running buddy, Howard, to keep me company, and he kept me from slipping even further on my pace. Having him to talk to was a very welcome distraction, and before I knew it, I was at the first relay stop, handing over the baton to my teammate.

When all was said and done, “Team Crushers” finished the marathon in 4:36, nearly 45 minutes faster than my individual marathon PR of 5:17. Score! Maybe running in a relay team from now on isn’t such a bad idea ;).

 

Someday this shall be my real finish time! (And perhaps I'll even beat it :))

Someday this shall be my real finish time! (And perhaps I'll even beat it :))

 

Team Crushers CRUSHED it!

Team Crushers CRUSHED it!

Leave a Reply

