What I’ve learned in the 24 hours since I’ve been injured

  • It could be worse. I could have broken my ankle (more badly, that is), lost a leg, died, etc., etc. I’ve got a bad ligament sprain and a fracture that’s expected to heal. In the grand scheme of things, I’m doing all right.
  • Walking on crutches is a workout in and of itself. I’m not sure if I should feel embarrassed about being out of breath getting from one end of the room to the other, but there, I’ve admitted it.
  • Core work WORKS. Thanks to my regular core work (thank you, Coach Kris!!), I’ve got much better balance than I used to, and I’ve been able to save myself from several near-stumbles while trying to maneuver my way around on crutches.
  • It’s hard to eat while on crutches. To save myself the trouble of having to figure out how to transport plates/bowls/glasses from my kitchen to my dining table, I’ve decided to just eat standing up at the kitchen counter. Of course, this means I’ve got a huge mess in my kitchen which, for a Type A anal-retentive person (me, anal? Nah…) is a bit of an adjustment.
  • It’s hard to wash dishes when on crutches. Dishes pile up. Again, testing my Type A tendencies.
  • Once one recovers from the injury, one is stronger/faster/better. I’m going to have to take this one on everyone’s word, because I’m not in the “recovered” stage yet. I’m hoping this one is 100% true.
  • Health insurance is a godsend. Much as I like to complain about Kaiser and much as it pains me to pay those $20 co-pay fees, I am supremely grateful to have health coverage at all, because I’d hate to think of what I would have had to pay out of pocket for the examination, the X-ray, the splint, the crutches, and the upcoming physical therapy.
  • Turns out, 24 hours really is a lot of time. Often, it seems to fly by and I am constantly wondering how in the world I’m supposed to fit everything in that I have to do into a measly 24 hours–work, working out, writing, friends, family, down time… But when you are immobile and suddenly half of those things aren’t on your to-do list, you start to wonder how you’ll fill that time. Nice to get to the things I normally relegate to the “when I have time to take a break” pile.
  • A sense of humor is a must. If I can’t laugh about it, I’m going to cry, and crying is no good. There’s no crying in baseball, so I can’t imagine there’s much crying in running, either.

And the #1 thing I’ve learned:

I am surrounded by many, many, many good people. From my parents, who took me to the hospital last night and have been incredible in helping me get around at home (as teeny as that home is), helping me do dishes, put away cookware, put away laundry, etc., to my boss who is cool enough to let me work from home while I’m on crutches and can’t drive, to my wonder chiropractor, Carley, who has promised to get me back in fighting shape as I heal, and finally, to my amazing set of friends, who have sent in a constant stream of encouraging words and pep talks, I am very touched and humbled.

They say everything happens for a reason and while I would not have chosen this particular situation, I will be able to make the best of it, thanks to all of you.

Leave a Reply

