Back in the saddle again…

It’s been 9 weeks since my memorable (and not in a good way) trail race, where I fractured my ankle. I’m happy to report that I am finally back in the swing of things! I got the officially clearance 3 weeks ago to get back to running, albeit cautiously and watching for any signs whatsoever of pain or discomfort. Technically, I’m still another few weeks away from the bone and the ligaments being 100% healed, but I’m enough of the way there that I can resume all normal activity–one stupid move, however, and I could be back to being immobile faster than you can say, “setback.”

 

So I’ve been very conservative indeed and not running for more than 30-40 minutes at a time. I’m feeling no pain (yay!), but as I learned from this whole ordeal, apparently I can’t trust my pain sensors to tell me when I’m going too far–after all, I ran on a broken ankle at one point. I always thought of myself as having a very low tolerance for pain, but I’ve been told by several people now that I in fact have a very high tolerance. Hmm, I’m not sure whether I should be happy or scared about that ;).

 

In any case, I’m so happy to be back to doing the things I love. I didn’t realize just how much I missed it until I went on my first run and found myself tearing up–yes, actually tearing up. I feel very lucky to get to do these things: be active and use my body when there are so many others who would give just about anything for that chance. I definitely don’t take this blessing for granted, and I think that’s why I’m so determined to use that ability to do something good and make a difference.

 

Summer season for Team In Training is now just a little over three months away and I can hardly wait. It feels so good to be back in the game!

One thought on “Back in the saddle again…

Leave a Reply

