Coming away unscathed

First post-injury (or should I say post-injuries?) race today: a 10K, which was a manageable enough distance for me and manage my nerves. Mind you, I was still pretty traumatized by my experience in the last race I ran–you know, the one where I broke an ankle and tore a fair number of ligaments. Needless to say, I didn’t want another repeat of that.

I didn’t really know what to expect today. I was pretty much resigned to the fact that I would be unlikely to beat my PR of 1:02:50, but I was ok with that; I was more concerned with whether I’d have the stamina to run the entire way, since it’s been only about 6 weeks since I was given the all clear to start running again and getting back into my full workouts. I’d managed to keep up my cardio, but I haven’t been training at anywhere near the levels I usually train in, so I wasn’t sure whether I could just approach this the way I’ve approached 10Ks in the past.

I was pleasantly surprised, though, to discover that yes, I did still have the stamina to run the entire way. This was the longest distance yet that I’ve run since recovering from my injuries, and I survived :). Not only did I survive, but I got a pretty decent time as well (1:11:36), and I got a medal, which is not usually the case with most 10Ks.

Most of all, I was able to keep pace with most of my friends and had a great time out there–and I did it all without getting injured again. It was exactly the boost to my confidence that I needed! It was nice to remember that I can go out there and run a race and not come away injured. I know this intellectually, of course, but it’s one thing to know it and quite another to have it reinforced for you. Today was all about the reinforcement :).

 

10K bling

A medal for a 10K? Where do I sign up?

Leave a Reply

