What a difference a day–and a good run–make

So I’ve been having a bit of a roller coaster last few weeks. The last few days have especially been trying/emotional/draining, and quite frankly, I wasn’t sure that I was going to be in a good place to take on the challenge of ramping up to our first double-digit mileage run today. Once we enter the double digit territory, the runs not only take a toll on you physically, but surprisingly, they do a number on you mentally as well, and with all of the things that have been on my mind lately, I wasn’t all that confident I’d be up for this run mentally.

But as tends to happen with these “magic runs,” when you least expect it, you can have a workout that just surprises you and it can make all the difference in the world.

For one thing, I had just about the best running buddies on this run that I could have asked for. Janine, Leah, and Carsten kept an easy, doable pace that felt great, but also had me feeling as though I was challenging myself too. More importantly, we had fun, leisurely conversations all throughout and for anyone who’s ever run any long distance runs, you’ll know the importance of being able to make the time pass quickly–these guys helped me do that :). By the time the 10 miles were over, I felt as though I could have run 10 more (ok, maybe not THAT many more :p) and felt better than I had felt post-run in a long, long, LONG time.

At the 10 mile turnaround

Afterwards, the team had our annual Honoree Picnic, in which we celebrate the people who inspire us to get out there and run and raise funds. Hearing their stories of struggle and ultimate triumph would turn even the hardest of hearts into pure mush, and as usual, I was a bucket of tears by the end of their stories. Remembering that earlier this week, it was the 16 month anniversary of losing my friend Brittanie, and remembering that my own father, who may have to undergo his fourth bone marrow exam to determine whether he may have Leukemia, my heart was very heavy, to say the least. There is still so much to be done, so many lives yet to save, and yet when you see these living testimonies of triumph standing right in front of you, it’s hard not to feel inspired and motivated to keep going.

Our wonderful Honorees

Our wonderful Honorees

Good runs like this–good days like this–make the bad ones worth it. They really do.

Leave a Reply

