Bathing in ice and a special anniversary

Yesterday’s scheduled run was on the hallowed grounds of Waddell Creek–in other words, the place where “magic” happened and I bonded with my good friends Janine and Robin, who’ve been my run girls ever since :). Waddell Creek is always a special run for us, and it’s always fun celebrating our “anniversary,” so I was bummed to have to miss it this summer.

Thankfully, my good friend Steve organized a make-up run for those of us who couldn’t make it out to the scheduled training. Make-up runs are bare bones, with no official water stops (although Steve was kind enough to provide makeshift ones along the trail–thanks, Steve!), and very few people on the team. I was feeling very apprehensive this, wondering if I’d find anyone in my pace group to run with, or whether I’d be relegated to running all 14 miles alone–a daunting prospect if ever there was one.

But lucky for me, Daria had to miss yesterday’s run too, and we got to run the first 12 miles of the run together before I had to round it out with the last 2 miles of my run (easily my least favorite of the entire run–no fun having to run on your own ;)). I can’t emphasize enough what a difference it makes to run with someone. The miles flew by, and before I knew it, we were pulling into the entrance at Campbell Park and I was in the home stretch of my run. By the time I finished, I was thrilled with how great the run felt–and in dire need of an ice bath.

Speaking of ice baths… yes, it’s that stage of training again where all long runs from here on out will be followed by the infamous ice bath. It had been almost a year since my last one, but surprisingly, this one wasn’t as bad as I remembered them being. Nothing can ever prepare you, of course, for the initial shock of stepping into a tub of freezing water (here’s a trick: get into the water first, THEN add the ice), but before I knew it, the 15 minutes had gone by and I was actually feeling pretty ok.

I guess my tolerance has increased quite a bit :).

 

Brr

Brr!!

 

All in all, a fantastic run, thanks to Steve, Daria, and some other folks who we saw along the trail–including two beautiful dragonflies I saw towards the end of my run. This is how it’s done!

Leave a Reply

